About Us

Mission Statement

We, the Catholic faith community of Saint Mel in Flushing, NY, empowered by the Holy Spirit, endeavor to continue our tradition of proclaiming to all people the Gospel message of Jesus Christ.

Centered in the Eucharist and acknowledging our Baptism call, we invite and encourage all to proclaim and practice the faith of Jesus Christ, and to witness our faith through service to all. We strive to draw from our strengths and traditions as we face the challenges of life together in hope and love.

We are committed to welcoming all generations, nationalities and cultures to be part of our community. And we value each persons contribution of time, treasure and talent.

Parish Staff

Reverend Joseph G. Fonti S.T.L.,  Pastor  ( jfonti@stmels-queens.org )

Reverend Jun Hee Lee, Weekend Assistant

Reverend  Italo Barozzi, In Residence

Deacon Joseph Freda (jfreda@stmels-queens.org)

Ms. Paula Migliore, Director of Religious Education  (stmelfaithformation@stmel-queens.org)

Ms. Denise DeRosa, Director of Religious Education  (stmelfaithformation@stmels-queens.org)

Mrs. Amy Barron M.A, M.S. Ed, Principal-St. Mel’s Catholic Academy (abarron@stmelsacademy.org)

Mrs. Daniela Volpe, – Assistant PrincipalSt. Mel’s Catholic Academy (dvolpe@stmelsacademy.org)

Mr. Richie Diaz, M.A., M.S. Ed.Interim Board Chair St. Mel’s Catholic Academy (rdiaz@stmelsacademy.org)

Mr. Rudolph Albert, Director of Music Ministry (ralbert@stmels-queens.org)